Sauna electricity cost
Heater kilowatts, session length, sessions per week and your price per kWh, turned into a cost per session, per month and per year.
The numbers in the boxes are examples, so the math is visible before you type. They are not a heater spec or a utility quote. Replace every box.
Get deal alerts by email
Short emails when we see a real price drop on the gear and supplements we compare, checked against brand pages. Plus the free PDF “Biohacking on a budget”. Unsubscribe anytime.

How it works
Kilowatt-hours per session = heater kW × minutes ÷ 60. Cost per session = kilowatt-hours per session × price per kWh. A year is sessions per week × 52 × cost per session. A month is that year ÷ 12.
The example in the boxes (6 kW, 60 minutes, 4 sessions a week, 18.16¢ per kWh) is 6 kWh and $1.09 a session, $18.89 a month and $226.64 a year.
Only the numbers you type are used. Nothing on this page looks up a heater size or a utility rate. Heat-up counts only if those minutes are in the session length you enter.
Example heater: Sweat Kingdom's Sweat Barrel Regular ships with a Harvia 6 kW heater, $5,145 on sweatkingdom.com (31 Oct 2026). That heater is traditional, not infrared. The boxes above stay examples until you type your own numbers.
We earn a commission if you buy through our links.
See the Sweat Barrel at Sweat Kingdom Anzeige · affiliate link
FAQ
How is cost per session calculated?
Heater kilowatts times minutes divided by 60, times your price per kWh.
How do weekly sessions become a month and a year?
Sessions per week times 52 is the year. The month is that year divided by 12.
What if the heater is not drawing that power the whole time?
The calculator multiplies the kilowatts you enter by every minute you enter. If the heater cycles, enter the minutes it is drawing that power, or a lower kilowatt figure.
Does this include the sauna price or the electrician?
No. It is the electricity for the minutes you enter. The purchase price, freight, assembly and wiring are not in the total.
Barrel sauna electricity cost
Type the heater kilowatts, the minutes, the sessions per week and your price per kWh. The 6 kW in the box is an example, not a barrel heater's nameplate. The 18.16¢ per kWh figure is an example too: it is the EIA US average, not your bill.
Sauna blanket watts
The box takes kilowatts. Divide the watts on a product page by 1,000, then type that number. This page does not state a sauna blanket's wattage.
Sauna cost per month
The month is the year's electricity divided by 12. A year is sessions per week times 52 times the cost per session. The 6 kW and 18.16¢ figures in the boxes are examples.
Infrared sauna watts
If a spec sheet lists watts, divide by 1,000 and type the kilowatts. The 6 kW in the box is an example. This page does not state an infrared sauna's wattage.
What breaker does a 6 kW sauna heater need?
Sweat Kingdom lists 30A with 10/2 or 10/3 wire for the Barrel Harvia 6 kW. That is one maker line for one heater, not a rule for every 6 kW heater.
Related: sauna at home, first-year cost · Pod vs Barrel vs Cabin · 2-person outdoor barrel sauna · The Ridge vs 2-person cabins
Almost Heaven heater kilowatts used with this calculator are on the freight and power page. Select Saunas store Anzeige · affiliate link
Product pages: sauna
More calculators: all tools · cold plunge running cost · savings calculator
We may earn a commission from links on this page. How we make money